Posted in Family, Struggles, Uncategorized

Parenting

This role has been the most difficult yet the most rewarding.  We all have had the moment at a parent that we just enjoy watching our child grow and amture into whom they will become.  We love to see them stand up for themselves until it is against us.  We enjoy watching them find their way unless they act like us.  We love to haqng out with them until they act like their other parent, haha.

No, I am just kidding.  I love to be with my children.  I enjoy seeing them make friends and love on others with their whole hearts.  I love seeing them act out for Jesus.  I love watching them mature into a mesh of my husband and myself.  I love to see their smiles when they are proud of what they are doing.  I love hearing their laughter when they are enjoying themselves.

The times I don’t like are when she is screaming at me that unloading the dishwasher is not fair. Or when he yells and says he shouldn’t have to clean his room.  When they are trying my patience or testing my limits are the most trying times for me, as a parent.

What I feel is teh hardest part is that they are so different from one another.  My son is almost twenty-one and my daughter is almost ten and they are completely different.  Now, I love how different but the same they are and I love how much they try me but at the same time it is exhausting.

Days with my son were very different from days with my daughter.  My son is very calm and contains his emotions very well.  My daughter shows all her emotions at once.  We can go from happy-go-lucky to demon-child in a blink of an eye.  I love that she has strong emotions but I just never know how to handle it or how to take the words she screams at me.

I typically just smile and tell her I love her and send her to her room to do whatever it is that needs to be done.  Then I fall and pray.  I pray for her and for myself and I kick satan out, once more.  He is sneaky how he tends to slip in to our lives.

What I am trying to express to you is that you may be going through these same troubles at home with your child and there is hope.  Just pray and stay calm.  Never raise a hand in anger.  Our hands hurt more when they carry the angry to them.  Never lash out in anger.  Our words are sharper and cut deeper when they are said with anger holding on to them.  Never punish in the heat of the moment.  We are usually not thinking rationally and tend to overreact.  So, guard your tongue, pray over the moment, and react with a calm yet strong and powerful message to the child.

I will pray for each of you and I hope that this reaches those that need it.

Amen and God Bless y’all!

Author:

I am not your typical Texas Girl. I do not wear makeup and do my hair up big! I do not eat out every night, like so many around us. I do enjoy to being with my husband and children and have truly enjoyed it for the last 22 years. Yes, we fight, yes we disagree but we never chose any other life. We fight for one another and our family that is near us. We stand strong against adversity and never sway in our beliefs even when it is going against the grain. We have been blessed in many ways by the God above and remain amazed at the gifts and blessings He has poured over our children. Our walk has had ups and downs but we always return to one another. God Bless each of you reading this blog page!

Leave a Reply

