Posted in Christianity, Religion, Uncategorized

Are We Thanking Him

I was reading my morning devotional today and the topic got me thinking and wondering.  Am I truly grateful for what Christ has given me? Am I actually content? Or am I simply saying that I am so that He will bless me further? Is there motive behind what I say?  Or am I actually content?

So, it got me thinking about my prayer life. How am I praying? Am I just going through the same old motions and words each evening or am I speaking from my heart?  Am I being thankful with hopes that my thankfulness reflects goodness and will then bless me with kire? Do I want more?

Well, I do want more. I think that if we do not want more than we have no goals. If we have jo goals then we tend to lose purpose. I am not saying that I want a mansion on a hill with horses and servants. I simply want more time with my family. I want the ability to lend a financial hand whenever it is necessary to those in need around us. I want a home that I own not borrow from someone else. I want to live a healthy life so I may grow old with my children and know my great grandchildren. I want to send my children to college without a student loan or incurr any debt because of it.  I want to rock beside my husband until we are so old and grey that our love is all that holds us together. I want to do God’s will and work with the financial abilities that He provides. So, I don’t think wanting things is bad. I just think the way the world runs after things is what hurts us.

Take a business man on Wall Street. The typical one is going after that next big thing that is gonna make him the most money. What about these  people that say they can show you how to be rich like them in 3 easy steps, just send then $500.  Then there are the pyramid schemes that promise an easy way to make money. None of this is easy as God directed, we must work for everything. We must have some pain to be able to rejoice in what He has provided you with.

So, I am grateful that God gives my family the ability to remain focused on our goals and allows us to enjoy our lives together. So, I am truly content with what I have and if we do not reach the goals we want, I will remain happy in Christ and content with my blessings.

Are you content?

Author:

I am not your typical Texas Girl. I do not wear makeup and do my hair up big! I do not eat out every night, like so many around us. I do enjoy to being with my husband and children and have truly enjoyed it for the last 22 years. Yes, we fight, yes we disagree but we never chose any other life. We fight for one another and our family that is near us. We stand strong against adversity and never sway in our beliefs even when it is going against the grain. We have been blessed in many ways by the God above and remain amazed at the gifts and blessings He has poured over our children. Our walk has had ups and downs but we always return to one another. God Bless each of you reading this blog page!

Leave a Reply

