Posted in Family, Health, Life Questions, Struggles, Uncategorized

Midlife Crisis?

This is SO GOOD that I had to share it, as another friend had shared it.

”I think midlife is when the universe gently places her hands upon your shoulders, pulls you close, and whispers in your ear:
I’m not screwing around. It’s time. All of this pretending and performing – these coping mechanisms that you’ve developed to protect yourself from feeling inadequate and getting hurt – has to go.
Your armor is preventing you from growing into your gifts. I understand that you needed these protections when you were small. I understand that you believed your armor could help you secure all of the things you needed to feel worthy of love and belonging, but you’re still searching and you’re more lost than ever.
Time is growing short. There are unexplored adventures ahead of you. You can’t live the rest of your life worried about what other people think. You were born worthy of love and belonging. Courage and daring are coursing through you. You were made to live and love with your whole heart. It’s time to show up and be seen.”

~ Brené Brown
Wow, how many of us can relate? Who can say that they read this and mentally examined their life and thought, “Holy Macaroni, did she just read my journal?”

Well, I did. This stage in my life has been full of tough decisions regarding moving my family thousands of miles from the home we knew for twenty years into a territory that was all but odd to us.  We have changes schools for our daughter twice. I am back in school so that I feel accomplished in my career.  Our son is gonna ng to college back in our hometown and that kills me. I hate having my family so far apart!

So decisions and life changes are part of God melding and molding us into what He wants us to become so that we can perform His deeds. Our lives take us in and out of different territories and moments that can make and break our hearts. Our tears fill jars on the shelves of Christ’s study.  Our laughter becomes the music on His never ceasing playlist.

What are your life-changing decisions going on? What has you baffled or guarded? What is stopping you from letting God take the reins?  Are you going to continue to hold on to that childish mentality or are you going to mature in the Word of God?

 

Author:

I am not your typical Texas Girl. I do not wear makeup and do my hair up big! I do not eat out every night, like so many around us. I do enjoy to being with my husband and children and have truly enjoyed it for the last 22 years. Yes, we fight, yes we disagree but we never chose any other life. We fight for one another and our family that is near us. We stand strong against adversity and never sway in our beliefs even when it is going against the grain. We have been blessed in many ways by the God above and remain amazed at the gifts and blessings He has poured over our children. Our walk has had ups and downs but we always return to one another. God Bless each of you reading this blog page!

2 thoughts on “Midlife Crisis?

  1. Perfect for me to read today. As another birthday is approaching and my oldest child will be senior I have been thinking what now? It’s time to let some things go. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

