Posted in Christianity, Religion, Struggles, Uncategorized

Call Yourself A Christian Part 2

Do you show honor and respect to your parents, even if they were not the best at being a parent?

Do you respect and love your child, even when they are being a terror?

Do you ask for things or demand things be done?

Do you study God’s word daily, weekly, monthly, bi-annually, or yearly?

Do you speak to others about His Great and unending love?

My parents were not the best but they did what they thought was the best and that should be enough for any child to honor their parents.  It took me several years to realize that I was NOT showing them the respect that Christ demanded.  I was treating them as I felt.  Once I forgave them for their non-malicious wrong doings, life felt released and I could actually enjoy it with them.

Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be prolonged in the land which the Lord your God gives you.   Ephesians 20:12

I have the best children, I know all parents say that hahaha.  I enjoy MOST moments with them, but once I realized that Christ was their Father and we were simply given a small part of their lives teaching them about Christ, it made it easier to love EVERY SINGLE MOMENT!  Now, I seek moments to show them the respect that I hope they give me.  I do not demand things from them nor do I control their choices in life.  I simply ask them to do things and explain why they should be doing it, even when she is having a fit about why she has to unload the dishwasher, which id EVERY NIGHT!

Train up a child in the way he should go, Even when he is old he will not depart from it.  Proverbs 22:6

Daily devotions have been the hardest thing for me to do and get in a routine.  I think that I saw this as a waste of time and thought that there was no point in performing this meaningless task.  Once, I started, I hated missing them.  I now do 2-3 devotions a day.  I begin my day with prayer and a small Women’s devotion or something geared towards a struggle I am trying to over come.  My day sometimes includes a lunchtime devotion that is geared towards a power devotion that gets me over a struggle I am battling.  My evening devotion is almost always geared towards marriage or parenting.  This helps me to stay on track.  It is really awesome when they all speak on the same topic.  I never realized how simple God really is while being so majestic and powerful at the same time.  It is truly amazing!

Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.  II Timothy 2:15

Lastly, I struggle with this one a lot!  I know that Christ needs us to share His love and word with others.  I just feel that I am not as knowledgeable to do so.  This is one of my struggles that I pray over.  Speaking the Word of God to others that do not know Him.  I battle with the right words to say, the right verses to repeat, and the right time to do any of it.

Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit   Matthew 28:19

 

So, if you are one that struggles with any of these, then you are not alone.  Leave a comment and pray over it.  He will guide you and offer you the strength to overcome your battles.  May God bless you and guide you through your days.

 

Author:

I am not your typical Texas Girl. I do not wear makeup and do my hair up big! I do not eat out every night, like so many around us. I do enjoy to being with my husband and children and have truly enjoyed it for the last 22 years. Yes, we fight, yes we disagree but we never chose any other life. We fight for one another and our family that is near us. We stand strong against adversity and never sway in our beliefs even when it is going against the grain. We have been blessed in many ways by the God above and remain amazed at the gifts and blessings He has poured over our children. Our walk has had ups and downs but we always return to one another. God Bless each of you reading this blog page!

Leave a Reply

