Posted in Christianity, Family, Religion, Struggles, Uncategorized

Marriage Lesson 16 of 20

Our spouses often show us love in different ways than we expectWe are all different and give and receive love differently. This was a hard lesson for me to learn. My pastor had to tell me once that my husband does love me and was in fact showing me his love, it was just in a different way than I expected. Learning this lesson opened my eyes to see things in a whole new way.

My thoughts:

Love_TV_Logo

LOVE: the dictionary defines love as an intense feeling of deep affection.  How do you feel this from others?  How do you express this to others?

Find out your love language

(individual)  http://www.5lovelanguages.com/profile/singles/

(couple) http://www.5lovelanguages.com/profile/couples/

(child) http://www.5lovelanguages.com/

love language seal

I recall many times receiving a gift from my husband and thinking, “what?!”  Now, I am a girl and I DID enjoy the fact of a gift but I also thought, “I would prefer time with you or something like a hug.”  This was NOT how he expresses his love for me.  He feels that if you give him little gifts that you love him.  So, he was simply expressing to me his love for me.  So, now, while I am at the store I look for little things he likes such as a movie he has been wanting or a snack he desires greatly.  Now, with the

He feels that if you give him little gifts that you love him.  So, he was simply expressing to me his love for me.  So, now, while I am at the store I look for little things he likes such as a movie he has been wanting or a snack he desires greatly.  Now, with the movie, we both get the love language fulfilled.  I receive time with him, but this is his 2nd love language so he likes it too!  And he gets the gift portion of love.  So, we each get something by simply taking a moment to think about one another and show how we value one another.

to me your perfect

He also has had to learn how to express love towards me so that I feel it.  He will walk up and just hug me.  That is mine!!  I want a hug or a moment of devotion to me.  I want to be heard and actually be shown the attention I desire.  The GIFT of a chiropractor visit or a massage fulfills both of our needs.  he gets to gift it to me and I get to feel the touch.

We have both had to make the adjustments in the expression of love in order to feel the love from the other one.  It was NOT difficult, it just took some time to recognize.  Once we took the above-noted tests, it was sooooo evident.

I would highly recommend the above tests, they only take 10 minutes or so but are well worth the result.  Give them to your children so that you always remember to respond with love to them.  As a child grows, they may need to retake it, as they mature and grow into the adult God planned for them to be.  So, Happy Testing!!

 

Author:

I am not your typical Texas Girl. I do not wear makeup and do my hair up big! I do not eat out every night, like so many around us. I do enjoy to being with my husband and children and have truly enjoyed it for the last 22 years. Yes, we fight, yes we disagree but we never chose any other life. We fight for one another and our family that is near us. We stand strong against adversity and never sway in our beliefs even when it is going against the grain. We have been blessed in many ways by the God above and remain amazed at the gifts and blessings He has poured over our children. Our walk has had ups and downs but we always return to one another. God Bless each of you reading this blog page!

Leave a Reply

