Posted in Christianity, Family, Life Questions, Struggles, Uncategorized

Marriage Lesson 11 of 20

Maintain friendship: Friendship is essential in marriage. And as you get older, it’s even more important. When your children grow up and move out on their own, it will be just the two of you. You need that friendship with your spouse to journey through those seasons together. There are times when my husband and I have gotten so wrapped up in the lives of our children we’ve forgotten about our own friendship. Taking the time to laugh together, enjoy one another’s company, and even finding common interests goes a long way to maintaining that friendship.

My Thoughts;

This is so right on the money!!  When we began our relationship, I was guarded and at times I catch myself still throwing that guard at him.  I was not familiar with what a true friendship was and what it meant to be a friend without judgement.  He showed me how to be a “best friend”.  He made me feel like someone that could be communicated with regarding anything and sharing all the things that happened in my life.  I can truly say that he knows me better that any other person, even better than I know myself.  He is and will always be my best friend.

I will be responsive to my spouse’s needs
I Peter 3:1

I feel that if you do not have the open-relationship with your spouse that makes it okay to share your failures, disappointments, and trials alongside your wins, victories, and accomplishments then you need to pray for that communication to open up.  Allow yourself to be hurt and be exposed to others pain.  Sometimes we have to learn to listen so that we can actually hear what is going on in their hearts.  If your spouse is the one that is uncomfortable with this exchange, then just pray and continue to open up to them.  It may take a long time but it will happen.

Only my spouse can satisfy me; I am captivated by their love
Proverbs 5:19

I will pray that each of you enjoy this precious time of sharing and love with your spouse.

With God, all things are possible
Matthew 19:26

God Bless You!

 

Author:

I am not your typical Texas Girl. I do not wear makeup and do my hair up big! I do not eat out every night, like so many around us. I do enjoy to being with my husband and children and have truly enjoyed it for the last 22 years. Yes, we fight, yes we disagree but we never chose any other life. We fight for one another and our family that is near us. We stand strong against adversity and never sway in our beliefs even when it is going against the grain. We have been blessed in many ways by the God above and remain amazed at the gifts and blessings He has poured over our children. Our walk has had ups and downs but we always return to one another. God Bless each of you reading this blog page!

Leave a Reply

