Posted in Christianity, Family, Religion, Struggles, Uncategorized

Marriage Lesson 9 of 20

Marriage requires time: Life is busy. There are many demands pulling at us from all sides. It’s easy to get wrapped up in work, family, and other responsibilities and put marriage last. But like any relationship, to keep it healthy, we have to invest time in our marriages. When our oldest was a month old we went out on a date. To be honest, we had to force ourselves. It was hard to leave our little guy behind. We made a commitment then to have a regular date night. These days, it’s harder to get a real date night but we enjoy taking walks together in our neighborhood. Time together doesn’t have to cost anything, it’s the quality time together that matters most. In fact, we love our walks together just as much as dinner and a movie.

My thoughts;

I am just as guilty of this as anyone else.  I allow THINGS to fill my time and take away time that should be spent with my lover.  I allow other things to dominate time and I have to be brought back to reality.  I have to be almost knocked over the head to realize what I am portraying.  When I allow this to happen, like any other of you, we place value on things that are not what should be valued over our spouse.

I will ask in faith, without doubting
James 1:6

They recognize what is important to us by our actions.  I am just as guilty as every other person on this planet.  I know that I may say one thing but DO another.  This is a fault that God is working on in me.  He will prevail.  I just have to allow Him to take over and not try to do it myself.  Our spouses want to feel important and highly-valued.  They need to feel that we will perform as we state we will.  They need to know that we will actually do as we say, not make empty promises.

I am united with my spouse, and we are “one”
Ephesians 5:31

Make it a point to ask your partner out on a date.  Plan a date, the ENTIRE event, right down to the childcare if necessary, surprise them with a pizza and a movie, pick them up in a loaner car or rental that clears the air of necessities, bring them flowers or gifts, PUT AWAY THE PHONES AND ELECTRONIC DEVICES.  Show them that you want to be their priority as much as you are making them yours.

My marriage is a decision to serve one another.
I Corinthians 7:4

So, pray and work hard at making them feel important and place their needs above your own.  I ask each of you to do that for me as well.  This is not something that we will overcome alone or easily.  This takes purposeful devotion to your spouse and marriage.

God Bless y’all!

Author:

I am not your typical Texas Girl. I do not wear makeup and do my hair up big! I do not eat out every night, like so many around us. I do enjoy to being with my husband and children and have truly enjoyed it for the last 22 years. Yes, we fight, yes we disagree but we never chose any other life. We fight for one another and our family that is near us. We stand strong against adversity and never sway in our beliefs even when it is going against the grain. We have been blessed in many ways by the God above and remain amazed at the gifts and blessings He has poured over our children. Our walk has had ups and downs but we always return to one another. God Bless each of you reading this blog page!

Leave a Reply

