Posted in Christianity, Family, Religion, Struggles, Uncategorized

Marriage Lesson 8 of 20

Christ must be first in my own heart: Not only does Christ need to be the center of a marriage, he must also be first in our individual hearts. When we love Christ first and foremost, we are then able to love our spouse. As Tim Keller wrote in Meaning of Marriage: “The simple fact is that only if I love Jesus more than my wife will I be able to serve her needs ahead of my own. Only if my emotional tank is filled with love from God will I be able to be patient, faithful, tender, and open with my wife when things are not going well in life or in the relationship. And the more joy I get from my relationship with Christ, the more I can share that joy with my wife and family.” (p.124).

 My thoughts:

You can say that Christ is the center of your marriage, you can say that you are teaching your children to follow what Christ teaches, and you can tell your friends that you are following His lessons.  But…if you are TRULY not on his train, you will find turmoil and many trials follow you and your family.  The deceit is not only a way to get the fast train away from Christ but it leads to hypocrisy.

I will stand up and praise the Lord God with a strong voice
II Chronicles 20:19

We must truly LEAN on Christ at all times, including the good.  We must give God the glory in all times of trouble, times of loss, and times of misunderstanding.  Our honor and respect must be HIS first.  The word teaches us that God has a light yoke and he wants our burdens.  He states to NOT worry, allow Him to fulfill His promises.  he will surely shine through your home, marriage and your heart if you only allow.

The Lord will deliver me
Jeremiah 1:19

The love Christ gives us and we take with open arms is easy to share when it is the most important gift we receive. We awake in the morning because that love is strong in us.  We have an urgency to share Christ’s love with others, so why not first take of it yourself.  If we do not feed, we have none to give.

The word of the Lord is right, pure, and enlightening
Psalms 19:8

Surround yourself with God’s word and love and then you are able to give as he commands.

God Bless you!

Author:

I am not your typical Texas Girl. I do not wear makeup and do my hair up big! I do not eat out every night, like so many around us. I do enjoy to being with my husband and children and have truly enjoyed it for the last 22 years. Yes, we fight, yes we disagree but we never chose any other life. We fight for one another and our family that is near us. We stand strong against adversity and never sway in our beliefs even when it is going against the grain. We have been blessed in many ways by the God above and remain amazed at the gifts and blessings He has poured over our children. Our walk has had ups and downs but we always return to one another. God Bless each of you reading this blog page!

Leave a Reply

