Posted in Christianity, Family, Life Questions, Struggles, Uncategorized

Marriage Lesson 5 of 20

Children change everything: It’s true, marriage changes with children. Both in wonderful ways and in challenging ways. Though parenting is hard and tiring and sometimes painful, we’ve found that parenting has forced us to need and rely on each other. Parenting, in many ways, unites us together. It causes us to use our respective strengths, to strategize together, and bounce ideas off of each other. We have to work together to figure out this thing called parenting. It’s a joy and gift to have a partner in that work.

My thoughts and ideas;

When we were new to the idea of even living together, we were blessed with a baby boy.  It was one of the greatest moments of our lives.  We were so happy and proud that we were receiving this great gift.  Lo and behold, the horror!!

The late night feedings, the tears, the screaming, the depression; and then the baby did the same things.  yes, I went through postpartum depression and had so many things to deal with within my family and then a new baby.  he was a gift and he was an eating machine so I was never without him and I had the typical family drama that comes along with parents that are divorced and stingy when it came to their baby girl. So, we not only had to learn how to live together, how to be parents, and we had to learn how to deal with family drama.  It was a trial!

I am united with my spouse, and we are “ONE”
Ephesians 5:31

My husband felt left out and probably in the middle of a mess!  He and I learned how to lean on one another and how to just be parents.  Through the years, we have gained another wonderful blessing and she gives us much of the same demands, if not more, than our baby boy did.  We are grateful to have one another to lean on and learn from.

Our marriage will be honorable and pure before God
Hebrews 13:4

We rely on each other for strength and understanding as well as guidance.  Our love has grown stronger throughout the challenges parenting brings.  Our hugs have grown tighter to provide more strength to the one in need, which is usually me.  he has prevented me from pulling out the final strand of hair on my head.  We know that God has brought us together for a reason and we feel that our love is the reason.  Our children have seen us argue and they see us apologize and love one another following those disagreements.

As a husband, I will love my wife as Christ loved the Church and gave himself up for her.
Ephesians 5:25
As a wife, I will do my husband good, never evil.
Proverbs 31:12

God will bless you as He has blessed us.

 

Author:

I am not your typical Texas Girl. I do not wear makeup and do my hair up big! I do not eat out every night, like so many around us. I do enjoy to being with my husband and children and have truly enjoyed it for the last 22 years. Yes, we fight, yes we disagree but we never chose any other life. We fight for one another and our family that is near us. We stand strong against adversity and never sway in our beliefs even when it is going against the grain. We have been blessed in many ways by the God above and remain amazed at the gifts and blessings He has poured over our children. Our walk has had ups and downs but we always return to one another. God Bless each of you reading this blog page!

Leave a Reply

