Posted in Christianity, Family, Life Questions, Struggles, Uncategorized

Marriage Lesson 1 of 20

By being directed to this site for marriage lessons, I gained the idea to elaborate on each of the lessons, to add my points of view and experiences.  Thank you God for this directions.  May it bless each of you reading this!

Credit for this goes to: http://www.ibelieve.com/blogs/christina-fox/marriage-lessons.html

Marriage is a gift: There are countless marriage books on the market giving advice and strategies for making marriage good, strong, and lasting. I’ve ready many of them. I’m even trained to do marriage counseling. There are certainly factors that make a marriage healthier and factors that make it unhealthy. There are things we can do to strengthen a marriage and things we can do to weaken it. But in the end, a good marriage is a gift of grace from God, the maker and sustainer of all things. Apart from him and his work in our lives, we can’t make a marriage work on our own. This is true of all areas of life, and as I’ve seen, especially in marriage.

My Words and Experience:

I agree that marriage is a gift from our Holy Creator!  He designed marriage to be a unity of two that love one another and build one another up.  When we treat the marriage as a gift and not a sentencing from a judge, then we can place a higher value on it.  I have seen and witnessed so many people that devalue the unity of marriage by living together or stating they will not marry anyone due to past experiences and circumstances.

Therefore, God has joined together, let no man separate
Mark 10:9

I think that God designed marriage to be more than sharing the utility bills and expenses of life.  God designed marriage for the value of love to be expressed through dedication and commitment.

Marriage is to be held in honor among all
Hebrews 13:4a

So many take the value of marriage and devalue it by saying that if they don’t like the person after a few years or even months that they can just separate or divorce.  They place no value on the commitment portion of the marriage, no value on what a marriage actually is.  I think that God wants us to hold the sanctity of marriage at a greater standard than a piece of paper that can be ripped up.

The husband must fulfill his duty to his wife, and likewise also the wife to her husband.
I Corinthians 7:3

Do not get me wrong or misunderstand me.  I am NOT stating that there is NEVER a reason to divorce.  I am simply saying that so many people use it as a quick way out.  They simply don’t TRY to make it work.  There are many reasons to divorce, but there are MANY more to work it out!  So, before the paper is even discussed, pray!

For I hate divorce, says the Lord God of Israel…so take head to your spirit, that you do not deal treacherously
Malachi 2:16

So, please take heed in your decisions for marriage and divorce.  Always go to God before such decisions are made.  He will guide you through the path of life!

God Bless each of you!

Author:

I am not your typical Texas Girl. I do not wear makeup and do my hair up big! I do not eat out every night, like so many around us. I do enjoy to being with my husband and children and have truly enjoyed it for the last 22 years. Yes, we fight, yes we disagree but we never chose any other life. We fight for one another and our family that is near us. We stand strong against adversity and never sway in our beliefs even when it is going against the grain. We have been blessed in many ways by the God above and remain amazed at the gifts and blessings He has poured over our children. Our walk has had ups and downs but we always return to one another. God Bless each of you reading this blog page!

Leave a Reply

